Tags

, , , , ,

Hello and welcome to my blog.

I want to share some insights and motivational stories with you that might help you in dealing with difficult situations and hopefully inspire you to overcome anything that is blocking your path. I was just recently in an accident again that left me with a broken clavicle bone and this will leave me out of work for some time but gives me the opportunity to reflect on my life. I had been in an almost career ending accident before when I was in college that required 3 hand surgeries and considering all my other experiences, this might be a good time for me to share my story and help you possibly overcome your own hardships.

First of all, let me introduce myself. My name is German Schauss and I am a professional musician, guitarist, composer, author and teacher. I perform my original music all over the world as well as write music for tv, film and video games. I even was listed in Guitar World Magazine as one of the fastest guitar players of all times. I am also the author of a very popular book and DVD series on rock and shred guitar. Visit my website to find out more http://www.germanschauss.com

I started playing guitar at a relatively young age of 11. I was given a classical guitar by my grandmother and that’s when my miraculous journey in music began. I studied classical guitar and later became more interested in rock guitar.

I became completely fascinated with music and guitar and I knew that this is the only thing I want to do with my life. It kept me in school to finish my German “Abitur” (high school degree and admittance to study at a German university) and lead me through many other hardships. I was determined to study music at Berklee College of Music, just like my musical idols did. Back in 1994 just before I finished high school, there was no Internet to quickly google information. I was lucky enough to have a friend in school who went on summer vacation to Boston and I asked her to bring me a brochure. Once I got the brochure and read about this amazing place of music and learning, I was determined to go, no matter what. I just had to figure out how to get in touch with the school, apply, secure a scholarship and funding, get a visa and finally pack up my belongings and leave my country to start a new life, all alone….but before…I had to finish my military service …and I thought that this would be the only obstacle in my life before I finally could follow my dream and begin a new. But I was wrong. When I graduated in 1995 I was drafted and served my military service as a civil servant in a hospital for 1.5 years. I worked hard and diligently, added overtime and didn’t take time off and I was able to finish my service in one year. I had hoped that this would be the end and I could continue my musical journey. But it wasn’t….

My father fell very ill and it wasn’t clear if he would survive. My brother and I took care of my dad during this time and it was a touch and go for over a year before my father actually survived his illness and was discharged.

I never age up upon my dream even with all the different things that had happened and made me feel like it was not meant to be. I always practiced my guitar diligently, performed with bands and also worked in studios in Germany despite everything. Then finally, it was my time to begin my life in the fall of 1998…

I used a method called “affirmation” technique. It’s a method of using visualization to lead you to your goals. This is how it works: envision the future, the place you want to be, the activity you want to do, the people you are going to be with. Use as much detail to desire the future scene and then work backwards towards the point you are today. This will give you a clear path to achieve your goals. Try it first with a short term goal and then increase the time span and also your goals.

The story continues in my next blog. Please feel free to leave comments, share your insight, your stories. You can also email me at lightspeeder1@mac.com for questions or comments.

Thank you,

German

