Tags

, , , , ,

Welcome back to my continued story.

I left off my last blog entry with talking about a mental strategy I use to accomplish my goals and place me in the right track.

The technique I use is called Affirmation. It’s a very commonly used mental exercise to understand ones goals and needs.

Try to imagine your goal, picture yourself in the situation and be as precise and detailed as possible. For example, if you want to perform in front of 200,000 screaming fans with your band, imagine yourself on the stage, precisely imagine the details like your band mates, what you are wearing, what song you play, how the place smells, etc….then internalize this picture, take a snapshot so to speak and follow the trace back to your point in life and time. This technique allows you to trace back the steps it takes to fulfill your vision.

To me it was imperative to use this to get me out of the situation I was in and get my new life started.

After I took care of my father who miraculously recovered from a grave illness after one year and managed to get in touch with the only place I wanted to be, Berklee College of Music, I began using this method. I had no one helping me getting started, getting the paperwork, finding a way to pay for it and much more….but all I wanted was to play guitar and study music….I pictured myself walking the halls of this famous place, being a student and perhaps leave a mark behind so that I won’t be forgotten.

I managed, step by step, to fulfill all the necessary steps to be accepted at Berklee and I still remember when I received the letter of acceptance on March 17, 1998…. A week before my Birthday, my life made sense again. I began selling off all my belongings and gear. I had lived with my mom and stepfather since age 16 and it wasn’t a good situation. Lots of fights, conflict and tensions. So for me, leaving all this behind was not hard, the only thing that was hard was leaving my grand parents and brother behind who always had supported me. But I was ready to begin a new life 4000 miles away in a new country, alone.

I left Germany in late August of 1998 to be a freshman student at Berklee college of music in the fall semester. All I had packed was 2 suitcases and a guitar and high hopes for my future.

I wouldn’t have been able to do all this alone if I didn’t have a clear goal and determination.

But life was just about to start, and things got very tumultuous but this is another blog entry 🙂

Thank you for reading and I hope this gives you inspiration and positive motivation to deal with life and events. Feel free to comment, share or just email me at lightspeeder1@mac.com

For more info, please visit my website

