Tags

, , , , ,

Part 3: Overcoming one’s limitations or how to discover your true self

Hello and welcome back to my 3rd installment of my blog.

… Fulfilling my hearts desire, to move to America, begin a new life and study music. If you are not familiar with my story, please read the previous entries but we can just pick up here as well….

All I wanted to do in my life was play guitar, write music, perform and be a musician. It was an urge I felt at a young age and always followed through. It wasn’t always as easy as it might sound. I grew up in a interesting family with divorced parents and a lot of baggage to say the least. My grandparents were always very supportive in my artistic endeavors and helped me a lot and exposed me to a lot of different art forms.

I didn’t have a very successful school career. All my life I was told that I wasn’t smart enough, I was harassed and teased by the kids in school, beaten up and laughed at….I had internalized so many different fears and inferiority complexes, I thought that I was worth nothing. I think nowadays, I’d be diagnosed as dyslexic or ADHD, but back then you were called slow, or you needed extra time or work to get ahead.

Music and guitar was something that lead me through all the fears and pain. It was an outlet for my creativity, fears, and reestablishing my self-esteem.

Fast forward to fall of 1998, I was ready to begin my studies at Berklee College of Music. Yes, a school, a place I always had feared…but this time it was the only place I ever wanted to be. It’s funny how one can be so scared yet so drawn to a place of education. I was given a fresh start, a new life and beginning in which I can decide for myself what and how I want to life it without fears.

My first semester at Berklee went by so fast, I didn’t even realize the months pass. I was engulfed in my studies…learning about music and also learning about life at the same time. These first months helped me even more to realize why I am on this planet. I noticed things changing in me and I got stronger and stronger. Letting go of all my fears. For the first time in my life I developed a sense of self worth and joy.

We all long for something that fulfills us and gives us purpose and no matter what our history makes us realize what we have to do in order to find ourselves and make this world a better place.

I was lucky to have finally found my destiny no matter how long it took or will take.

In the next part of my blog: Destiny strikes again or the painful way to get to the goal.

Thank you for reading and I hope this gives you inspiration and positive motivation to deal with life and events. Feel free to comment, share or just email me at lightspeeder1@mac.com

For more info, please visit my website

