Tags

, , , , ,

Overcoming your own worst enemy, your own mind…

Hello and welcome back to my 7th installment of my blog and my story. If you are curious about the previous events, feel free to go back and read the older postings.

Reexamining your technique, your thinking, and approach to music and guitar or in general to the things in your life can be quiet eye opening but necessary to change and improve. There might be many events that will lead you to do so. Mine were 3 unfortunate surgeries.

Redeveloping my technique and changing my playing to adjust my mind and body was one of the most important things I had to do to recover. It was as painful as it was liberating.
Working on my technique also required adjusting my mind and thinking. I understood that my limitations should be the starter for my creativity, replacing the “I can’t do this” with a let me change it, so I can do it or do something new and fresh based in the previous idea.

I started to develop a new repertoire and new sounds, breaking through the standard guitar playing and stylistic limitations, developing my own sound and voice. My new ideas and technique caught many of my friends, fellow students and teachers attention. Further more, it lead me to opening up new streams of creativity and possibilities. I wrote and recorded huge amounts of music. Sometimes, I had so many ideas going on that I was overwhelmed but I exercised patience and kept working. Even tho all this happened during a difficult time, I turned the events into something good for me.

The fall semester of 2000 and spring semester of 2001 went on despite extreme changes to be my most important and difficult moments in my life….and despite all this, I found myself. To my surprise, I earned “Outstanding Musician Award” 2001 at Berklee and also a few other awards and scholarship raises since I had gotten into financial problems since the death of my grandfather, I was in serious trouble of not being able to finish….but that is a story for the next installment of my blog.

Thank you for reading and I hope this gives you inspiration and positive motivation to deal with life and events. Feel free to comment, share or just email me at lightspeeder1@mac.com

For more info, please visit my website

